Artist Residency

Studio XX’s residencies offer artists opportunities to experiment and create new works. The Studio favors interdisciplinary approaches and cultivates a network of experts capable of responding to the requirements of its resident artists, on technical, creative and theoretical levels. For a period of eight weeks, resident artists have access to a private work space and a computer suited to a wide range of media projects. Residents receive an artist fee, a budget for instructors/collaborators and enjoy free access to all Studio XX workshops and equipment. The works produced during the residencies are presented to the public. Three residencies are offered per year.

Josée Brouillard :: À l’∞

À l’∞, by Josée Brouillard

Collaborator: Pierre Électrique

À l’∞ is an installation work comprised of a custom fabricated curved LED screen. This screen, at human scale, is fixed on a pivot. When activated by a motor, the screen traces a circular trajectory measuring 6 feet in diameter.

Carol-Ann Belzil Normand

Image de Carol-Ann Belzile

Virtual Residency at Studio XX
From November 11, 2013 to January 17, 2014

The residency research project of Carol-Ann Belzil Normand consists of producing an experiemntal animation web app.

Rosa Mei :: Women Warriors

Image for Rosa Mei project

During her artist residency from September 16 to November 8, choreographer/director and professional martial artist Rosa Mei will produce WOMAN WARRIOR, a time-lapse journey of  female fighters from 3500BC to the 21st century.

Résidences d'artistes

Les résidences du Studio XX offrent aux artistes la possibilité d’expérimenter et de créer de nouvelles œuvres. Le Studio favorise les approches interdisciplinaires et maintient un réseau d'experts afin de répondre aux exigences des résidentes, tant au niveau technique que pour l'encadrement créatif et théorique. Les artistes en résidence ont accès à un espace de travail, un ordinateur réservé et aux équipements du Studio pendant huit semaines. Elles profitent d'un soutien technique ainsi que d'un cachet d’artiste. Leur travail est présenté dans le cadre de nos activités de diffusion. Trois résidences sont offertes annuellement.

Josée Brouillard :: À l’∞

À l’∞, image par Josée Brouillard

Collaborateur : Pierre Électrique

À l’∞ est un projet d’installation constitué d’un écran incurvé de lumières DEL. Cet écran, d’une dimension approximative de 4 pieds de largeur par 6 pieds de hauteur, est relié à un pivot. Lorsque mis en mouvement par un moteur, l’écran trace une trajectoire circulaire d’environ 6 pieds de diamètre.

Carol-Ann Belzil Normand

Image de Carol-Ann Belzile

Résidence virtuelle au Studio XX
Du 11 novembre 2013 au 17 janvier 2014

La résidence de recherche de Carol-Ann Belzil Normand consiste à produire une application Web d’animation expérimentale.

Rosa Mei :: Women Warriors

Image for Rosa Mei project

Durant sa résidence qui aura lieu du 16 septembre au 8 novembre 2013, la chorégraphe / réalisatrice et professionnelle des arts martiaux Rosa Mei, basée à Prague (CZ), créera WOMAN WARRIOR, un voyage en "time lapse" de femmes combattantes de 3500BC au 21ème siècle.